What are the six regional division of Africa?

Six regions: North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, North East Africa, East Africa, Southern Africa.

What are the regional division of Africa?

The UN Statistics Division has subdivided the African continent into five regions, Northern Africa, Central or Middle Africa , Southern Africa, East Africa, and Western Africa.

Where is the 6th region of Africa?

The African diaspora, which includes people of African descent living outside of the African continent, such as the Americas, Australia, Asia, and Europe, has been officially recognized by the AU as its sixth region.

How many regions are there in Africa?

Africa has eight major physical regions: the Sahara, the Sahel, the Ethiopian Highlands, the savanna, the Swahili Coast, the rain forest, the African Great Lakes, and Southern Africa.

What are the names of the regions of Africa?

The five regions of Africa.

  • The United Nations Geoscheme divides Africa into 5 subregions: Northern Africa, West Africa, East Africa, Middle Africa, and Southern Africa.
  • There are 54 countries in Africa.
  • An estimated 1.369 billion people live in Africa.
IT IS SURPRISING:  What was the most important technology that Europeans dominate Africa?

What are the 5 geographic regions of Africa?

The 55 members are grouped into five geographic regions (North, South, West, East and Central).

Are there 53 countries in Africa?

The 53 countries in alphabetical order are: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, …

Are there 54 or 55 countries in Africa?

There are 54 countries in Africa today, according to the United Nations. The full list is shown in the table below, with current population and subregion (based on the United Nations official statistics).

Which part of Africa is Nigeria?

Nigeria is the most populous country in West Africa, and currently the seventh most populous in the world.

Is Ethiopia a republic?

Ethiopia is a Federal Democratic Republic composed of 9 National Regional States (NRS) – Tigray, Afar, Amhara, Oromia, Somali, Benishangul-Gumuz, Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples Region (SNNPR), Gambella and Harari – and two administrative councils – Addis Ababa and Dire Dawa.

How many regions are in South Africa?

South Africa has nine provinces, each with its own legislature, premier and executive council – and distinctive landscape, population, economy and climate.

What is the top of Africa called?

The tip is Africa is called the Cape of Good Hope.

What are the 7 continents in Africa?

There are seven continents: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia (listed from largest to smallest in size).

IT IS SURPRISING:  What is the best business in Ghana?

What are the four main geographic zones of Africa?

Landforms Ecologically separated from North Africa by the sweeping and sparsely populated Sahara Desert, the sub-Saharan mainland consists of four vast and distinct regions: Central Africa, East Africa, West Africa, and Southern Africa.

Which region in Africa is most populated?

As of 2020, Eastern Africa was the region with the largest population in Africa, with around 445 million inhabitants.

Is Nigeria North Africa?

Nigeria, country located on the western coast of Africa.