How many districts are in Egypt?

Egypt is divided into 27 governorates (muhāfazāt) and each has a capital and at least one city. Each governorate is administered by a governor, who is appointed by the President of Egypt and serves at the president’s discretion.

What is the district of Egypt?

List of Governorates of Egypt

Name Area (km2) Capital
Gharbia 1,942 Tanta
Giza 13,184 Giza
Ismailia 5,067 Ismailia
Kafr El Sheikh 3,467 Kafr El Sheikh

How many states has Egypt?

Egypt has a population of 80,471,869 (July 2010 estimate) and its capital and largest city is Cairo. In terms of local administration, Egypt is divided into 29 governorates that are administered by a local governor.

How many provinces are in Egypt and their names?

Egypt is divided into 29 governorates (muhafazah; Arabic: محافظة‎ muḥāfaẓä, plural محافظات muhafazat).

What are the 27 governorates in Egypt?

[23] The 27 governorates currently include: Alexandria, Aswan, Assiut, Beheira, Beni Suef, Cairo, Dakahlia, Damietta, Fayoum, Gharbia, Giza, Ismailia, Kafr el-Sheikh, Matrouh, Minya, Menofia, New Valley, North Sinai, Port Said, Qualyubia, Qena, Red Sea, Al-Sharqia, Soha, South Sinai, Suez, Luxor.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Your question: Who use most expensive car in Ghana?

What is the capital of Egypt?

Cairo, Arabic Al-Qāhirah (“The Victorious”), city, capital of Egypt, and one of the largest cities in Africa. Cairo has stood for more than 1,000 years on the same site on the banks of the Nile, primarily on the eastern shore, some 500 miles (800 km) downstream from the Aswan High Dam.

How many city are in Egypt?

These one-city governorates are divided into districts (fundamentally urban neighborhoods). Cairo has twenty-three districts, while Alexandria has only six.

Name Governorate 2016 Population
Cairo Cairo 9,947,216
Alexandria Alexandria 6,084,672
Giza Giza 7,615,165
Shubra el-Khema Qalyubia 2,025,569

What is the big city in Egypt?

In 2020, approximately 9.51 million people lived in Cairo, making it the biggest city in Egypt.

What is the old name for Egypt?

A popular ancient name for Egypt was “Kemet,” which means the “black land.” Scholars generally believe that this name derived from the fertile soil that was left over when the Nile flood receded in August.

Is Cairo a state in Egypt?

Cairo is associated with ancient Egypt, as the Giza pyramid complex and the ancient cities of Memphis and Heliopolis are located in its geographical area.


Cairo القاهرة
State Party Egypt

Is Egypt in Africa or Asia?

Egypt, country located in the northeastern corner of Africa.

What were the provinces of Egypt called?

Today, Egypt refers to its provinces as governates. Some system of geographic division existed from at least the beginning of the Pharaonic period, though perhaps at first there were far fewer nomes than later on in Egyptian history.

IT IS SURPRISING:  You asked: What is the lowest literacy rate in Africa?

How is Egypt divided?

Physiographically, Egypt is usually divided into four major regions—the Nile valley and delta, the Eastern Desert, the Western Desert, and the Sinai Peninsula.

What is the state of Cairo?

Cairo Governorate is the most populated of the governorates of Egypt. Its capital, the city of Cairo, is the national capital of Egypt, and is part of the Greater Cairo metropolitan area.

Cairo Governorate
Cairo Governorate on the map of Egypt
Country Egypt
Seat Cairo (capital)

What is the postcode of Cairo?

List of postal codes in Egypt

District Postcode
Cairo 11311 to 11668
5th Settlement 11835
1st Settlement 11865
10th Ramadan 44629 44635 44637