Quick Answer: Does Africa have states or provinces?

Are there states or provinces in Africa?

South Africa is one of the most diverse countries in the world . It is divided into nine provinces, each with its own legislature, premier and executive council. The Eastern Cape, at 168 966 km2, is South Africa’s second-largest province after the Northern Cape, taking up 13,9% of South Africa’s land area.

How many provinces does Africa have?

South Africa is divided into nine provinces.

Provinces of South Africa.

South African Provinces
North West Northern Cape Gauteng Limpopo Mpumalanga Free State KwaZulu-Natal Eastern Cape Western Cape
Category Regional state

Is Cape Town a province?

Western Cape, province, South Africa, situated in the southern extremity of the African continent. The provincial capital, Cape Town, is also the country’s legislative capital. Western Cape province was part of former Cape of Good Hope province until 1994.

Is Johannesburg a city or province?

Johannesburg, city, Gauteng province, South Africa. It is the country’s chief industrial and financial metropolis.

How many continents are in Africa?

These six continents are Africa, America, Antarctica, Asia, Australia/Oceania, and Europe. By most standards, there is a maximum of seven continents – Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Europe, North America, and South America.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Was Africa ever connected to United States?

Is Nigeria a state in Africa?

Nigeria is the most populous country in West Africa, and currently the seventh most populous in the world. About half of Nigerians are urban dwellers. Nigeria’s urban character is unique in Africa, counting 11 cities of over 1 million, and more than 70 cities of over 100,000 inhabitants.

What is the 9 province?

South Africa’s nine provinces are the Eastern Cape, the Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, the Northern Cape, North West and the Western Cape.

What is the state province region?

United States of America (US) – State/Province Table

Code State/Province
AR Arkansas
CA California
CO Colorado
CT Connecticut

How many regions are in South Africa?

South Africa has nine provinces, each with its own legislature, premier and executive council – and distinctive landscape, population, economy and climate.

Which province is Bloemfontein?

Bloemfontein, city, capital of Free State province (formerly Orange Free State) and judicial capital of the Republic of South Africa.

Which province is Durban?

Durban, formerly Port Natal, largest city of KwaZulu-Natal province and chief seaport of South Africa, located on Natal Bay of the Indian Ocean.

Is Lesotho a country or province?

Lesotho was previously the British Crown Colony of Basutoland, but it declared independence from the United Kingdom on 4 October 1966. It is now a fully sovereign state and is a member of the United Nations, the Commonwealth of Nations, the African Union, and the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

Is Pretoria a province?

Pretoria, in the City of Tshwane metropolitan municipality, Gauteng, is the administrative capital, and the ultimate capital of the country.

Eastern Cape.

IT IS SURPRISING:  You asked: What are the 3 causes of the new imperialism in Africa?
Capital Bhisho
English 3,9%
Population 6 734 001
Share of total population 11,3%
Area (km2) 168 966

Is Gauteng a state?

Gauteng is the smallest South African province. It is bordered by the provinces of Limpopo on the north, Mpumalanga on the east, Free State on the south, and North West on the west. Until 1994 Gauteng (called Pretoria-Witwatersrand-Vereeniging in 1994–95) was part of the former Transvaal province.

Is Pretoria a city or town?

Pretoria, city in Gauteng province and administrative capital of the Republic of South Africa. Pretoria stretches along both sides of the Apies River and extends into the western foothills of the Magaliesberg on the east.